Think Good Get Hitched
Think Good Get Hitched

There’s no doubt about it, setting your wedding date can be tough! You have to think about your own schedule, the schedules of your loved ones and the upcoming holidays, which cuts down available days quite a bit. To help you out, we’ve rounded up the UK wedding dates to avoid in 2020 (a leap year!) and 2021 including all the major UK holidays, religious observances and special events. Keep in mind that some couples love holiday weddings, so these dates may actually be perfect for you (just make sure you give your guests plenty of notice and book your suppliers well in advance).

Here are some wedding dates to avoid in 2020 and 2021.

WINTER

New Year's Day: Wednesday, January 1, 2020; Friday, January 1, 2021

Valentine's Day: Friday, February 14, 2020; Sunday, February 14, 2021

Chinese New Year: Saturday, January 25, 2020; Friday, February 12, 2021

SPRING

Mother's Day: Sunday, March 22, 2020; Sunday, March 14, 2021

April Fools Day: Wednesday, April 1, 2020; Thursday, April 1, 2021

Palm Sunday: Sunday, April 5, 2020; Sunday, March 28, 2021

Passover:  Wednesday, April 8, 2020 - Thursday, April 16, 2020; Saturday, March 27, 2021 - Saturday, April 3, 2021

Good Friday: Friday, April 10, 2020; Friday, April 2, 2021

Easter: Sunday, April 12, 2020; Sunday, April 3, 2021

May Day: Monday, May 4, 2020; Monday, May 3, 2021

Spring Bank Holiday: Monday, May 25, 2020; Monday, May 31, 2021

Eid-al-Fitr: Saturday, May 23, 2020 - Sunday, May 24, 2020; Wednesday, May 12, 2021 - Thursday, May 13, 2021

Father's Day: Sunday, June 21, 2020; Sunday, June 20, 2021

SUMMER

Eid-al-Adha: Thursday, July 30, 2020 - Monday, August 3, 2020; Monday, July 19, 2021 - Tuesday, July 20, 2021

Summer Bank Holiday: Monday, August 31, 2020; Monday, August 30, 2021

FALL

Rosh Hashanah: Friday, September 18, 2020 - Sunday, September 20, 2020; Monday, September 6, 2021 - Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Yom Kippur: Sunday, September 27, 2020 - Monday, September 28, 2020; Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - Thursday, September 16, 2021 

Halloween: Saturday, October 31, 2020; Sunday, October 31, 2021

Diwali: Saturday, November 14, 2020; Thursday, November 4, 2021

Remembrance Day: Wednesday, November 11, 2020; Thursday, November 11, 2021

WINTER

Hanukkah: Thursday, December 10, 2020 - Friday, December 18, 2020; Sunday, November 28, 2021 - Monday, December 6, 2021

Christmas: Friday, December 25, 2020; Saturday, December 25, 2021

Kwanzaa: Saturday, December 26, 2020 - Friday, January 1, 2021; Sunday, December 26, 2021 - Saturday, January 1, 2022

New Year's Eve: Thursday, December 31, 2020; Friday, December 31, 2021

Get organized with WeddingWire’s FREE wedding planning tools »